These Are a Few of My Favorite… Apps

I’m generally pretty sure that I am behind the curve on technology… but just in case there are other busy moms out there who might find this helpful, below are some of my favorite free apps for iPhone/iPad (some of them may also be available on websites or as other types of apps).

1) Bible for Kids

Produced by YouVersion, the same people who made the Bible App, this app is a perfect way for preschoolers to explore the Bible. Each story is narrated and has interactive pictures with fun animations. With trivia questions, incentives hidden in the pictures, and the ability to earn stars, my kids feel like they are playing a game while they listen to Bible stories!

2) Hot5

Let’s be honest – even though I have a Y membership and Jillian Michaels’ DVDs, I don’t often feel like I have enough time to go somewhere to work out, and I get bored with DVDs. The Hot5 app has dozens of 5-minute workout videos organized by type of workout and level of difficulty. I can easily pick a couple of videos a day and mix up the variety to fit my energy level and the part of my body I want to focus on. Plus, the kids love helping me pick a workout and then doing it right next to me!

3) MyFitnessPal

MyFitnessPal is a super easy way to set and track diet or workout goals (and can even be synced with Hot5 to automatically record how often and how long you work out). You can enter foods and exercise throughout the day to track your calorie intake and calories burned, see the nutritional value of the food you are eating, and track weight loss (or occasionally, weight gain…).

4) Audible

I used to love reading. Now, if I sit down to read, one of two things happens – someone needs me, or I fall asleep! With Audible, I can take advantage of car time and dish-washing time to listen to the books that have been on my reading list for ages. Plus, its on my phone – so I always have my latest book with me wherever I am. I just finished a 24-hour-long book in about a month. There is no way that I could have sat still (and awake) long enough to read that whole book without Audible! (Even though this app is free, you do still have to pay for the books).

5) Common Sense Media

When it comes to TV shows, games, and movies for my kids, I really don’t like being surprised by unhealthy content. With Kids Media, I can search for reviews of specific movies or shows – or I can search for recommendations based on their age. It includes information about the sex/violence/language/consumerism content, the plot, positive elements, and ratings by parents and kids. It’s my go-to for evaluating whether or not we will watch any given movie or show!

Hopefully these are helpful to someone… I realize this post might sound like advertising, but I have just found these apps to be so helpful that I wanted to share the love!

Leave a comment below with one or two of your favorite free apps!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

